Monday, 14 July 2008


Tania has tagged me.
  1. What were you doing ten years' ago?
  2. 1998. I was between university and the working life. I was at my parents' house, which is in the middle of no-where, and I was applying for every entry-level job that involved editing, hoping that one of them would let me move somewhere with better access to public transit. In the September I ended up working for my region's local newspaper, The Courier. There is some irony that this question should come today -- see the next answer.

  3. What 5 things are on your to-do list today?
    • Say YES to Courier job. (done)
    • Buy a present and card for Louise.
    • Think about supper so my tired housemate doesn't have to.
    • Write 3BT (done), Once Around the Park and my notebook prompt. (done)
    • Hunt down 3BTs all about change for a submission.

  4. What would you do with a billion dollars?
    Gradually buy the entire block of flats where Nick lives and make it into one house then set up a fund to ensure we have enough to live on comfortably for the rest of our lives. A billion dollars is such a mind-boggling amount of money -- I have no idea what I could do with it! A quick Google indicates that I might be able to buy YouTube or a social networking site; but I think I'd be inclined to get rid of whatever I didn't need as quickly as possible so that I don't have to worry too much about it.

  5. List the places you have lived:
    • A white weatherboard and brick semi-detached house in the middle of wheat fields.
    • A black converted barn in the middle of a forest.
    • A strange-smelling university hall of residence.
    • A buttermilk coloured terraced house beside a busy road, in a room with bars on the tiny window and a drafty door down to the cellar behind the bed.
    • A split-level brick house in the middle of a city, in a room with a curtain for a door, a piano and a sliding window out to some external steps.
    • A damp concrete box on a sunny residential dead-end street. I grew sunflowers on the flat roof outside.
    • An end-of-terrace with garden, shared with my partner's best friend and his collection of wonderful books.
    • A second floor flat on the High Street. The kitchen was beautiful and I still miss it.
    • A first floor flat with a huge living room and beautiful fireplaces on the junction between two residential streets. My room overlooks some lime trees.

  6. List the jobs you have held:
    • Writer
    • Assistant to a writer
    • Editorial assistant at small publisher
    • Proofreader
    • Sub-editor at a company producing material in Braille and large print
    • Freelance journalist
    • Healthcare journalist
    • Freelance Sub-editor for a homes magazine
    • Sub-editor for a gardening magazine
    • Freelance sub-editor for newspapers
    • Freelance editor for a website
    • Sub-editor for a local newspaper
    • Memoir editor
    • Plant label typer
    • Cherry seller
    • Apple picker
    • Baby sitter
    • Dock leaf weeder

  7. List the people you'd like to know more about:


  1. Interesting about the Courier, eh? I hope you don't see it as moving in any direction but forwards, you're definitely not where you were 10 years ago!

    And I should have expected such gorgeous descriptions of the places you lived from the woman who writes 3BT! Wonderful, you put the rest of us to shame!
    Love the idea of buying a social networking site - what would you do with it???

  2. Thanks for the tag - will endeavour to reply.